Magee - AllTalk...will cost you more than you contract for.

Farmington, Connecticut 0 comments

This company came to manage our condo property a year ago.So far we have run over budget, didn't get a third of the things done the managers promised us, and have spent unbelievable amounts of money we don't have in our budget.

I can warn you.....you will regret hiring theses two managers. They are all talk and make you write their company a lot of checks. Beware! Your property will look the same as before, your reserves will be depleated, they Will not send other companies any bid specs, your emails will go unanswered, and they will state they are not contracted in emergency situations.

Please do not give yourself this undeserved headache.You will be stuck in a contract impossible to get out of.

Magee - Poor management

Rockville, Connecticut 0 comments

I live in a rental complex which was recently purchased by a silent investor. This investor, we'll call him “Kevin R. Regan”, decided to put Magee in charge of "managing" our complex. Within the first few weeks Jason and his side kick Amber condemned and demolished our porch while my wife and I were at work leaving all of our property scattered on the lawn. Turns out they did this without pulling a permit and left the home in such disrepair it was found unsafe for our seven year old and our main entrance way had to be boarded up until repairs were complete. Jason, like a true professional responded by literally wrapping the front of our house in caution tape, so much so we couldn't see out of the windows. We lived in the caution tape spider webbing without use of our front porch for at least two months maybe longer before ANYONE even came to start quoting the job (yes Magee outsourced the repairs because it was beyond their capabilities).

During this time several of our neighbors were complaining that Jason was unlawfully entering their apartments without formal notice. Turns out they were telling the truth as they had been doing the same to us only I caught them while home after having back surgery. We contacted the police after civil conversations with Jason failed, and he proceeded to tell us he could come and go as he pleases. We then had an infestation of some kind of bug. Looked like a termite. They were only in our kitchen cabinets. I contacted Amber who sent Terminix. Only she never notified us that she had done this so no one was home. Not that it mattered because Terminix was only sent to spray outside our house. Again, the bugs were INSIDE ... in the cabinets. 2 tries later we got someone to come INSIDE and spray for the bugs. Fast forward to winter time.

After all the time and effort put into the 6 month porch project they never address water diversion for over our two entrances. On Dec. 29 or 30th 2012 we had a snow storm. As the snow melted it refroze overnight on both sets of stairs. On Dec. 31 2012 I came out slipped on the ice and fell on my back on the concrete steps. Fortunately there was no known re-injury from my surgery but despite my efforts couldn't reach anyone at Magee until January 2nd. On 1/2/2013 I contacted Amber and explained the safety hazard and that some sort of water diversion at least just over the steps was needed. This would be a 10 minute job especially for someone as qualified as Magee companies to keep my wife, our 7 year old and myself from severe injury. Well no response regarding that issue and we were forced to buy our own salt and maintain the ice as it accumulated. After almost two weeks we contacted Amber again and were told they wouldn't make any modifications to the building but she would send the silent investor were calling “Kevin R. Regan” an email. Well two snow storms later I’m still melting ice with my own salt and shovel because they couldn't be bothered. Jason, did however find the time to fine us for having a grill on our porch, which according to him is breaking our lease. 1) As two grown adults, a kind and courteous phone call requesting we not use the grill on the porch would have also worked just fine. Only I never was given the privilege of such a call. 2) we don't even have a lease with Magee because they still have to legally honor our previous lease through Lee and Lamont realty (who ARE great people to rent from if you’re interested) therefore since there is nothing in our lease about grills and porches I can't very well break what isn't written now can I?

We also received a complaint from Amber that we were using all of our parking spots. No you didn't read that wrong. The parking spaces that tagged with the numbers provided to us. Yup, they complained because we were using all of them. I can't make this stuff up. Those unfortunately are not even all of the problems. Only the big ones. I would strongly advise not only against using Magee for any of their construction services but from renting from them as well whether it’s at Windsong in Vernon or any other slum they may " manage". Imp sure Jason, in all of his professionalism will see this and respond with some angry, snide remarks based on whatever fictitious events he believes will make his company seem not at fault but the facts are the fact – just be prepared for his “mature” and “professional” response.

P.S I sent Magee an email for the fourth time requesting a date when someone would address the icing issue. His response did not include a date but that they would not be renewing our lease. I guess thats one way to get around having to make any repairs.

Review about: Rental Apartment.

Magee - another unhappy customer

Wethersfield, Connecticut 2 comments

I had used them before for a roof/siding job and had had some problems, so shame on me for having them do the second job.I had them install a roof.

They used two different colors, one of which was red and not even part of the order. In broad daylight and full sun, they didn't even notice that anything was wrong. I came home at dusk and noticed the mistake; had to call them up and have them come back and look at it. They fixed it, but the stupidity of the error left me with ANOTHER bad customer experience......and they didn't do much to make it up to me......song and dance on how low the profit margin is and an apology, but who gives a ***...........they don't do quality work, so I guess I learned the hard way not to ever ever use them again.

Tough lesson for me, but a warning to everyone out there..........think long and hard before you call Magee!..........and check with your insurance adjuster first.

Since I've had this problem, I've heard from adjusters that there are far better companies to use.Better quality, better value, much better satisifaction.

Comments

Anonymous
#403796

Unedited response from Magee:

I recently came across your cowardly rantings about Magee (I HAVE COPIED AND PASTED IT AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS EMAIL FOR YOU TO RE-REFERENCE); ironically the same day we spoke on the phone and your final statement was emailed out to you.

It amazes me to hear your one sided sob story of how you didn't get enough for free because you saw a tiny section of your roof with some red toned shingles mixed in. Your rant references "and they didn't do much to make it up to me" ..... I don't know why you didn't explain that you were given $137.80 worth of Leaf Relief in your gutters to help ease your pain and suffering from looking at the red toned color in the roof ???...........however, I guess as I think about it, I do know why you excluded that detail; as it makes you look like even more like a victim and your rant that much nastier. You experienced no actual hardship or damages because of the color mistake. People are not perfect, and a mistake was admittedly made....and to be accurate and fair, the mistake started at the distribution company with their order loaders filling your material order incorrectly. If fact, every single one of your previous complaints had to do with minor adjustments, of which each and every single one was completed to your satisfaction.

Regardless, as I stated many times; I offer and encourage a straightforward approach from each and every member of Magee's staff...... and that is exactly how...

So here's where we are now:

1. Magee has terminated all of our dealer warranties effective immediately per our right to do so. We will refuse to provide ANY future services (both warranty or paid) to you or your property indefinitely.

2. Statements of "hearsay" like your comment; "I've heard from adjusters that there are far better companies to use. Better quality, better value, much better satisfaction." define what the term slandering is; and it we treat that topic here with a zero tolerance.

3. To satisfy the posting by the user "MAGEE SUCKS" on December 27, 2011, we will live up to their accusation of "Big Management Egos" as I have already personally forwarded all this information, and original posting link to our "big corporate lawyers" to review and proceed with this case as they see appropriate.

Should they decide that they wish to pursue you legally, they have already been given my unconditional authorization of an unlimited budget to evaluate any and all of your remarks and harmful intentions to negatively jeopardize Magee's 40 year superior reputation; and furthermore requested they act firmly, swiftly and with severe legal consequences.

Best wishes for a wonderful 2012. One of your new years resolutions should be to have much less hate in your heart and for the world.

Jason Leavitt

Vice President/COO

Magee Family of Companies

Show more
Anonymous
#395324

had to chuckle when i read this....when i mentioned to my insurance adjuster that i was going to use Magee Companies, he just laughed.I asked 'why'?

and he said "i wouldn't"....he didn't elaborate, but i've got to respect the opinion of insurance adjusters that see the results of this company's out there every day.

needless to say, i din't go with them and after reading these posts, i am sure glad that i dodged that bullet!thanks for the honest feedback.....it really helped

Magee companies-didn't keep their word

Providence, Rhode Island 1 comment

this is an addendum to my original complaint of magee companies in west hartford re work that was incomplete in the fall 2010.company did not complete clean up of leaves and said they would come back in the spring -"i made a note and it's in your file--just call us back in spring" from owner.

when i contact them this spring they said they would come out and finish but i had to pay again!!! i contacted the BBB re magee and my issue and they ruled in favor of magee. the owner skirted around the actual issue by saying how it took me 4 months to pay this instead of one month which is correct.

he never admitted that when we discussed their coming back to my home this spring to finish what they missed that there was never ONE word spoken that I would have to pay again.

Review about: Fall Cleanup.

Comments

Anonymous
#395290

thanks....lesson learned! can't trust magee don't use them..

Don't trust Magee company-they don't their word

Atlanta, Georgia 9 comments
Not resolved

I hired Magee Companies to do fall leaf clean up at my home.When I got home i saw that they didn't clean the entire front yard which is what they were contracted to do.

I called the owner who happened to also be a friend and told him that they did a nice job but didn't clean the entire front yard. He said to me, "don't worry we will go back out there in the spring and finish it up." I spoke to his office manager the same day and she confirmed that that information was "in my file". I called them up in April to set up a time for them to come over and finish the job and i was told they would do it but I had to pay for it!! Talk about going back on their word and not completing the job.

I would NEVER do business with them again.

This is the same company that I had heard back remarks about from others but had defended them.Boy was I wrong!

Review about: Home Improvement.

Comments

Anonymous
North Providence, Rhode Island, United States #997152

On the contrary, I think Magee is great. They deliver on all counts. Blame the board for those issues!

Anonymous
#500784

We had the same experience. Their owner and office manager were rude and crude and used threats instead of good quality customer service. I wouldn't recommend them.

Anonymous
#403784

Unedited response from the VP of Magee Companies:

I recently came across your cowardly rantings about Magee (I HAVE COPIED AND PASTED IT AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS EMAIL FOR YOU TO RE-REFERENCE); ironically the same day we spoke on the phone and your final statement was emailed out to you.

It amazes me to hear your one sided sob story of how you didn't get enough for free because you saw a tiny section of your roof with some red toned shingles mixed in. Your rant references "and they didn't do much to make it up to me" ..... I don't know why you didn't explain that you were given $137.80 worth of Leaf Relief in your gutters to help ease your pain and suffering from looking at the red toned color in the roof ???...........however, I guess as I think about it, I do know why you excluded that detail; as it makes you look like even more like a victim and your rant that much nastier. You experienced no actual hardship or damages because of the color mistake. People are not perfect, and a mistake was admittedly made....and to be accurate and fair, the mistake started at the distribution company with their order loaders filling your material order incorrectly. If fact, every single one of your previous complaints had to do with minor adjustments, of which each and every single one was completed to your satisfaction.

Regardless, as I stated many times; I offer and encourage a straightforward approach from each and every member of Magee's staff...... and...

So here's where we are now:

1. Magee has terminated all of our dealer warranties effective immediately per our right to do so. We will refuse to provide ANY future services (both warranty or paid) to you or your property indefinitely.

2. Statements of "hearsay" like your comment; "I've heard from adjusters that there are far better companies to use. Better quality, better value, much better satisfaction." define what the term slandering is; and it we treat that topic here with a zero tolerance.

3. To satisfy the posting by the user "MAGEE SUCKS" on December 27, 2011, we will live up to their accusation of "Big Management Egos" as I have already personally forwarded all this information, and original posting link to our "big corporate lawyers" to review and proceed with this case as they see appropriate.

Should they decide that they wish to pursue you legally, they have already been given my unconditional authorization of an unlimited budget to evaluate any and all of your remarks and harmful intentions to negatively jeopardize Magee's 40 year superior reputation; and furthermore requested they act firmly, swiftly and with severe legal consequences.

Best wishes for a wonderful 2012. One of your new years resolutions should be to have much less hate in your heart and for the world.

Show more
Anonymous
#398048

their motto: over promise, under deliver and apologize later. big mgmt ego's, incompetent workers and they think they can talk their way out of anything.

Anonymous
#395308

I had used them before for a roof/siding job and had had some problems, so shame on me for having them do the second job.I had them install a roof.

They used two different colors, one of which was red and not even part of the order. In broad daylight and full sun, they didn't even notice that anything was wrong. I came home at dusk and noticed the mistake; had to call them up and have them come back and look at it. They fixed it, but the stupidity of the error left me with ANOTHER bad customer experience......and they didn't do much to make it up to me......song and dance on how low the profit margin is and an apology, but who gives a ***...........they don't do quality work, so I guess I learned the hard way not to ever ever use them again.

Tough lesson for me, but a warning to everyone out there..........think long and hard before you call Magee!..........and check with your insurance adjuster first.

Since I've had this problem, I've heard from adjusters that there are far better companies to use.Better quality, better value, much better satisifaction.

Anonymous
#395289

LOL....I had a similar experience. They are major screw ups! Stay far far away from them!

Anonymous
#395288

Worst quality of work ever.....sure they apologize, but I don't want an apology..I want it done right!....save yourself a major headache and get it done right by some other company

Anonymous
#395283

I agree...I've used them 2x for roof and siding....1st time the quality of the work was poor and had to have them come back more than once to get it the way it should have been in the first place...the 2nd time they put up a roof with two different colors.....*** mistake, but they didn't even notice and it had to be brought to their attention..... don't use them, it's not worth the aggrevatioin.

Anonymous
Cascade, Colorado, United States #376005

Magee is more like Magoo.They do not show up on time,their work in inferior and their reps do not return phone calls.

This company is a joke just like their name.Spend your money on a more reliable company.

View more comments

You May Also Like